Taller in many ways.

(Thoughts from 2009 and thoughts for 2010. This was what I’ve penned down on the very first day of this year.)

2009 was indefinitely a fantastic year. I’ve learnt a few things I may never will forget, and the few things I’ve learnt, I will cling on to it for as long as I breathe.

I’ve learnt how to give, joyfully. That lives that we cherish, often supersede materiality.

I’ve learnt that we should not be slaves to two things in life:

Our ego, and Facebook. That we should never put our life on hold for it.

And trust me, when you’re not a slave to both your ego and Facebook, you grow, tremendously in many areas of life.

I’ve learnt that whatever that you want for yourself, you should have it. And you can have anything that you wish for. But of course there would be exceptions to that rule – not an impossible one. The prerequisite is of course that you’d have to work hard for it.

So yes, I want that hot toned body. I will work for it.

And yes, I want that honours degree in law. I will work my arse off for it.

Looking back, in the past few years, I’ve dated boys I swore I was going to marry someday. I guess I was wrong.

And if I ever do find Mr Right this year, he definitely isn’t Mr Right Now.

I’ve also learnt to put important things first. Like time for God, time for myself, time for things that matter.

“Experience is what you get, when you didn’t get what you want,”

2008 – Was full of challenges, and I’m thankful I’ve embraced and carried it with me till this very day. It was a turning point in life – a sharp turn.

2009 – Was a good year. Graduating from pre-university and entering law school. Finally embarking on the journey I’ve always had in mind. It had been far more rewarding than I’ve imagine it would be. I wouldn’t change anything.

2010 – I have a hunch this year would be a great year. I feel absolutely blessed right now. With amazing friends, an education I’ve always wanted, and little things in life I’ll never take for granted. I can’t help but smile everyday.

In the beginning of 2009, I penned down a ‘to do list’. And I think that very well changed my life. There were 20 bullets on the list. And praisetheLord I’ve ticked 7.

  • Do my very best in studies.
  • End procrastination.
  • Read more.
  • Finish projects and assignments before the due dates.
  • Spend less time on the television and handphone.
  • Wake up on time.
  • Be an inspiration. (Well I hope I am an inspiration to you after you’ve read this)

Others like

  • Playing the piano till I graduate Grade 8
  • Learn to play the violin
  • Go to Disneyworld, Florida

.. would take  a few more years.

So you’d ask me, what would 2010’s new years’ resolution be? Simple. To be nice to people I can’t stand. Yeah, the doing part isn’t so simple though. Cross your fingers and toes, peeps.

But really thank You, Lord for an amazing 2009.

I pray 2010 would be as amazing, or even better.

I pray that I can be a blessing to You and others around me.

Let everything be a worship unto you as I was created to worship You.

0108 hours,

1st January, 2010.

Much love. X

Leave a Reply

