The marathon.

So the first half of 2010 has passed, just like that. Looking back, my God has indeed been so faithful. He’s blessed me tremendously in every aspect of my life; my studies, my growth in the Lord, and grown in life – to say the least.

So He’s blessed me. But have a blessed Him?

I’ve brought a soul to church and gave him a bible. That person is my law classmate. And I believe God is doing something in him, in little ways.

But is that enough? Is one soul for the Lord enough compared to how much He’s blesssed me. So yes, I do regret that I lived my first half of the year going after achievements and just living my life for myself, my family, my friends.

I have so totally forgotten the one thing that we all who are called been purposed to do. The greatest profession God called us to take up is not tobe a lawyer, or a doctor, or an engineer, or a businessman. But to be a fisher of men.

My pastor said this today in church and it struck the core of my heart. “If you really love God, you’ll do what matters to Him. And what matters to Him is for us to seek and save the lost,”

I always believe God created everyone with a void in the heart. And that void can only be filled with the love of God. I have seen people filling that void with other things; and it just doesn’t fit or fill up. And they continue and try filling it with all other sorts of things, like smoking, sex, wrong company – you name it.

Yes, I’ve also known of people living a life that is quite fulfilling. A 8/10 or even a 9/10. But I believe its never a 10/10.

So yes, why didn’t I reach out and tell these people about God and His amazing amazing love? After all the achievements and acomplishments, without doing what God has called me and you to do, we’ve totally missed out on the whole point in life.

Sometimes I tire myself out by trying to do so many things and forget how beautiful and fulfilling it is just to spend time with the Lord, or just to confide and find rest in His presence.

This will be my half time (analogous to football) and I’m going to take the next half of the year and make it count for Him. With the little I can do, I will give my best. I might not be able to change classrooms or the nation yet, but this will be my way of making a change to the people around me.

I will run my race for the next half of the year, with perseverance and endurance.

Hebrews 12:1-3 (New International Version)

1Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. 2Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

Because what matters to you Lord, matters to me.

Some of you might not have understood what exactly the above means, but I’m sure you will one day.

Leave a Reply

