With all that I am.

I DONATED BLOOD TODAY!

I followed YB Hannah Yeoh to City Harvest Church as she was officiating the Blood Donation Drive.

I decided to be a part of the event.

People filling up and buzzing around City Harvest Church auditorium.

The brave donors beside me.

One of the nurses.

They made us watch some cartoon while we were donating blood. Cute. I guess its so that we won’t be that tensed up or nervous.

Yup there were a few first time donors, understandably nervous. Well, with the sight of your own thick red blood oozing out into a bag and a thick needle piercing through your skin into your vein – you would be nervous.

But strange, I didn’t feel nervous. Those around me were astonished, expecting me, a first time donor to be well, at least, slightly terrified. I thought it was weird that the feel of being nervous did not cross my mind at all. Then I thought about it.

Maybe its all about being fearless. Maybe its all about thinking of the bigger picture. About being able to save few lives with this choice I’ve made. Maybe its about being selfless; not thinking about myself but those who really need the blood. Maybe thats why I wasn’t nervous.

I donated 450cc of my blood today. That would have allowed me the opportunity to save four lives. (do correct me if I’m wrong)

Everyone is allowed to donate blood every three months. I’m going to make this a habit. If there’s an opportunity for me to save lives, I’m going to grab hold of this opportunity.

Plus, my blood type is O. If you didn’t know, blood type O is most compatible and accepted by any other blood type receipients. Which means, regardless if you’re a blood type A, B, AB or O, you can take in blood type O. Whereas some blood type, like A can only be received by A or AB.

So yeah, its like awesome my blood type can be received by anyone. I see it as an opportunity to save lives.

HY said in her speech “Not even people like Bill Gates or those inventors can create and churn out blood. This is something we cannot make. And what you all are doing today is a very nobel thing and it is something close to the heart of God,”

BTW, here’s some cool facts I’ve found on the internet.

It seems (according to Japanese research) different blood types have different personalities. Here’s mine. Read up about yours here.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention. I got a bubu on both arms. Because first, the nurse pierced into my right arm. The blood transfer was coming along. Until suddenly it terkeluar from my vein. So yes, I had to be pierced again on the left arm. And the nurse inserted the needle in nice and deep alright. I turned away, afraid to look. Now my left arm hurts with the slightest movement. But I’m an oh so happy girl for donating some of my blood!

Hopefully little gesture will allow another to have a second chance in life.

Nope, I’m not a person that just talks about making a difference.

3 Responses to “With all that I am.”

  1. Looking forward to donating blood together when you’re back, baby. ( :

    By the way, i can’t do the test – ‘cos they don’t have my blood type. : P

Leave a Reply

