Everyday should be Valentine’s Day.

This morning I woke up to a text message from a friend I look up to, and consider that he’s the closest to what I’d call a brother. I don’t think I have ever had someone show me so much brotherly love. And that includes showing me that I may not be right all the time, edifying me and encouraging me. And this brotherly love wasn’t shown because of some lame reason like Valentine’s Day. It came with full sincerity.

Other than the slightly elevated morning, the rest of the day was pretty much normal; spending time in the university from 8am till 5.30pm.

I then was randomly given a cupcake. By Ellan, my closest guy friend – or rather my best friend, I think. Well, it wasn’t anything great but thats the only thing I got for Valentine’s so I’m not complaining!

Ah Valentine’s so overrated. Everyone expects so much from 14th February. Why pick one day to show your love when you can love 365 days a year? Husbands/boyfriends can leave roses for the woman randomly on other days too. Likewise for the girlfriends and wifes.

Then I spent my afternoon singing Shania Twain’s From This Moment On in the car with my guy friend, Chuin after class, and gossiping about hot guys. =B

Then later in the day I received a text message from a friend saying “I’m reminded that I am single today”. I thought it through before replying. Instead of the usual lecture on “Key is to want, but not need men”, I knew sometimes preaching what I strongly believe in might not be taken and understood by the other person anyways. So after thinking a fair bit, I replied “Why do you need a man to define you? You are an amazing person yourself and I think you should give yourself more credit than that,”

Hey, after all, Valentine’s is about showing love. And that is not restricted to someone you have romantic feelings for.

I also feel that the word love has been used in vain so many times. Often people express their infatuation for one another by that word. I feel strongly about love and I think it should only be used when we are really sure it is love.

So what if you spent your Valentine night a little too quiet. Your turn will come.

That doesn’t mean you can’t continue showing love towards others.

Celebrate

love.

Celebrate

life.

Leave a Reply

