Self control.

Isaiah 64:8 says “Yet, O LORD, you are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.

I’m sure you had friends in your life – of all sorts. Those who share the joys with you when you are excelling, spurring you on as you grow in life.

Then there are those kind of friends you have that enjoys seeing you stumble and trip over. Those that seek to pull you down because simply do not feel secure in themselves. Sure, they’re nice to you upfront but you can see through all the fake smiles and observed their true colours.

How do you react to those type of people in you life? You know you can’t avoid them because they are in your life.

Well, they are placed in your life for a reason.

Life is all about

choices.

Looking back at the Vivian I was 2 – 5 years ago, I would tell you without a doubt that sarcasm was my sword. I can be very passionate about things that get to me. Retaliation was the only option, and the only thing I could think of. And I actually became very good at it.

Then, God placed an obstacle before me. And He watched from above, which option I could choose. I felt His loving eyes on me. I knew He was with me throughout everything that happened. Yet, I felt so burdened and heavy hearted. Each day, I felt like I could not carry on any longer. But His strength and grace sustained me. I really felt I was put through fire. But I came out purified. I came out a changed person. As I made the choice to do what God wanted me to do. To love.

Since being purified and moulded by God, I no longer feel the need to fight back with my earthly strength. I don’t even choose to fight back anymore. Sure, I may be tempted sometimes. And sometimes I may fail, but God has really changed my heart. Instead of using an earthly sword, I throw away all swords. I only work at sharpening my double-edged sword – the word of God.

Don’t allow for the devil to whisper thoughts of anger towards that person that has hurt you. Instead, like Jesus, choose to love that person.

Jesus did not choose to die for people that followed and obeyed Him. No, He chose to die for everyone. Even those who spat on Him, nailed Him on the cross, and you and me who continue to sin and break His heart.

So, why can’t we do the same for our friends? After you have experienced His immense love and sea of grace poured upon our lives, it shouldn’t be hard to love those who wronged you. Even those who have wronged you over and over again.

Because we all know, at the end of the day, love wins. Jesus has won the battle because He loved.

It is indeed a tough thing to do. But allow the Lord to mould you.

I do stumble at times and want to conform to how the world works, but God has been so gracious and patient with me. And that just makes me want to try harder.

But, with all humility, I am very much still in the learning process to be more like Jesus.

The purpose of me writing this post is not to gloat about myself and try to convince you how I am a different person now compared to the person I was a few years ago. I am writing this to reflect His grace upon my life and maybe encourage you to persevere in running the good race for the Lord.

You may feel like you are doing this alone. But know that the King of Kings is writing every choice you make for Him in His books.

Have self control. And at the end of the day, it will be worth it.

1 Corinthians 13:13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

And now I have fully understand the true meaning of 1 Corinthians 13:8;

Love never

fails.

One Response to “Self control.”

  1. Aside from a few grammatical errors made, an excellently encrouaging piece (testimony of His amazing grace and amazing love upon your life) nevertheless! =D

    i’m so proud of you, love! Praise God for His miraculous work upon your life! Remember that the good work which He has initiated in you, He shall see to its completion (fruition), so be encouraged and persevere in Him! =D

Leave a Reply

